“Developed in conjunction with our Board of Directors, the World Design Medal aims to showcase exceptional Industrial Designers from around the globe who are making a positive impact on our quality of life and driving change in our world through design,” said WDO Senator Dr Brandon Gien and chair of the WDO Senate Selection Committee, that with select the winner of the World Design Medal.

The Senate Selection Committee comprises seven former WDO Presidents:

Brandon Gien of Australia, 2013-2015 President & Convenor of the Senate
Soon-In Lee of South Korea, 2011-2013 President
Mark Breitenberg of the United States, 2009-2011 President
Carlos Hinrichsen of Chile, 2007-2009 President
Peter Zec of Germany, 2005-2007 President
Luigi Ferrara of Canada, 2003-2005 President
Robert Blaich of the United States, 1987-1989 President

The World Design Medal is a special edition of the World Design Impact Prize - in celebration of the 60th anniversary of the founding of the International Congress of the Societies of industrial Design or Icsid (now WDO) in 1957.

WDO criteria for the World Design Medal state that nominees must be an industrial designer working with a multi-disciplinary team. The nominated body of work must have global reach and significant, positive impact on our quality of life. 

The call for nominations is open until 30 April 2017.

The winner will be announced on World Industrial Design Day, 29 June, and will be invited to travel to Turin, Italy in October to accept the Medal and deliver an acceptance speech at the 30th WDO General Assembly.

comments powered by Disqus

More Posts