The National Design Award recognise excellence and innovation across all design disciplines from industrial design to brand design.

Lunar, the global industrial design and engineering firm, won the Product Design category, for their groundbreaking industrial design over 30 years. Lunar was founded by Jeff Smith and Gerard Fubershaw in San Francisco.

Lunar’s design work in the consumer products, technology and life sciences markets for clients including Oral-B (the Oral-B CrossAction toothbrush), HP, Illumina and Johnson & Johnson has significantly contributed to the commercial success of these and other global brands and products. Lunar has also created its own successful entrepreneurial projects including Belle-V, a new brand of kitchen tools.

The overall Lifetime Achievement award was awarded to Ivan Chermayeff and Tom Geismar, the founding partners of Chermayeff & Geismar & Haviv, a New York-based brand design firm behind many of the world’s most iconic and recognisable trademarks.

Since 1958, Chermayeff and Geismar have pioneered the design of brand identities, exhibition design, print and motion graphics, and art in architecture, creating identities for clients including Chase Manhattan Bank, Mobil Oil, New York University, PBS and Xerox.

The California-based, Office, led by Jason Schulte and Jill Robertson, won the award for Communication Design; Narciso Rodriguez won the Fashion Design award; and Aaron Koblin won the Interaction Design award, for his pioneering work exploring the changing relationship between humans and the data they create.

Koblin’s projects include commissioning 10,000 people to draw a sheep, a 120-foot sculpture visualising global weather, a website for animators to draw infinite, ever-evolving stories, data-driven music videos for Radiohead and Arcade Fire, and the first crowd-sourced music video, The Johnny Cash Project.

Koblin leads the Data Arts Team at Google; his work is in the permanent collections of the Museum of Modern Art, Victoria and Albert Museum and Centre Pompidou.

The Cooper-Hewitt National Design Awards were launched in 2000 by the Whitehouse Millennium Council to promote design as a vital tool in shaping our world. The First Lady, Michelle Obama, is Honourary Patron of this year’s awards.


comments powered by Disqus

Related Posts