The Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA) has revealed the International Design Excellence Awards (IDEA) jury for 2013. The line-up of 22 international design experts that make up the jury come from design consultancies, corporations and universities.

Chairing the event is Thomas Overthun, associate partner and practice director, IDEO since 1993. Previously, Overthun managed a group of seven designers and now directs large design programs at IDEO. His clients include Audible, Brooks England, Cisco, Eastman, fi’zi:k, Microsoft, National Panasonic, Oral B, Procter & Gamble, Selle Royal, Steelcase, Western Digital and Zyliss Switzerland, and his areas of expertise are contract furniture and seating, office and consumer electronics, kitchen tools and appliances, personal care and sports products.

Overthun’s work has received Gold and Silver IDEAs as well as several iF and red dot awards. Chicago Atheneum and the Cooper-Hewitt Museum in New York City have exhibited his projects and they have been featured in BusinessWeek, ID international, Axis, Frankfurter, Allgemeine and GQ magazine.

Complementing Overthun’s expertise, the jury members also include:

  • Catherine Bailey, creative director, Heath Ceramics
  • Shujan Bertrand, principal designer, Coalesse
  • Khodi Feiz, founder, Feiz Design
  • Larry Fenske, industrial design professor, Virginia Tech
  • Torsten Fritze, founder and managing partner, Studio & Partners
  • Matt Jones, principal, BERG
  • Mike Kruzeniski, creative director, Microsoft Mobile
  • Rob Lambourne, director of user experience, Sonos
  • Glen Oliver Löw, designer and professor, HBK Hamburg
  • Matthew Marzynski, industrial design manager, Fluke Corp.
  • Jonathan Olivares, designer and design researcher, JODR
  • Oscar Peña, global senior creative director, Philips Design Lighting
  • David Peschel, executive director of design and innovation, Speck Design
  • Lukas Scherrer, founder, Shibuleru
  • Mike Simonian, co-founder, Mike & Maaike
  • Victoria Slaker, vice president, Ammunition
  • Leslie Speer, associate professor of design, San José State University
  • Roger Swales, founding partner, GRO design
  • Tad Toulis, creative consultant
  • Tucker Viemeister, principal, Viemeister Industries
  • Simon Waterfall, creative director, Fray
  • Claude Zellweger, principal, One & Co

(Complete bios of all jury members can be viewed online.)

“The 2013 jury is composed of 22 accomplished women and men carefully chosen to reflect the broad spectrum of our profession,” said Overthun. “Small and large consultancies, corporations, design writers and researchers, teachers and design entrepreneurs are represented to mirror the ever widening breadth of work entered into IDEA.”

Entries will initially be considered online by the jury in order to compile the list of finalists. The hands-on jurying will take place at The Henry Ford on 1–3 May, where winners will be decided.

Registration for IDEA 2013 ends on 11 February. For more information visit IDSA.

comments powered by Disqus

More Posts

World Design Medal launched by WDO

The World Design Organisation (WDO) has launched the World Design Medal. The award recognises and celebrates industrial designers who've made a significant contribution to the design profession.

News, Share

Lotus C-01 motorcycle

Sportscar manufacturer Lotus has announced that its first ever motorcycle – the Lotus C-01 – is now ready to hit the road.

Float Base Station

Float Base Station

A temporary communication station for use in natural disasters and emergency situations has won the red dot luminary award at the 2012 red dot: concept awards.

News, You