“I’m very glad to welcome a superb jury in Essen, Germany, this year again. Its members are, among others, DMI president Karen Korellis Reuther from the USA and German top architect Hadi Teherani. In 2012, both of them debut as red dot jurors,” said Prof Dr Peter Zec, founder and CEO of red dot.

The 27 jury members will judge every object live - on-site in Essen, Germany, over several days. Every product submitted for the awards is tested, discussed and evaluated. Thousands of designs are examined within the 19 award categories.

Other new jury members for 2012 are Prof Ken Nah, Director of the International Design Trend Centre (South Korea), Hideshi Hamaguchi (Japan), Director of Strategy at Ziba Design, Prof Rudolf Schricker (Germany) and Luisa Bocchietto (Italy).

The jury for the architecture category will also include renowned architect Ben van Berkel (Netherlands) who joins Hadi Teherani and Steve Leung.

“In 2012, the participants of the red dot award: product design can trust that these design luminaries from all over the world will assess the latest products with expert eyes. This year again, from Asia to Europe to America, red dot unites international know-how in one place. Participants can be sure that their products will be evaluated by independent specialists who rank among the best in the varied design disciplines,” explained Prof Dr Peter Zec.

 The deadline for regular entry for the red dot award:product design is 20 January 2012. Late entries are accepted until 8 February 2012.

To enter go to www.red-dot.de

To find out more about the 2012 jury members, click here

comments powered by Disqus

More Posts

Getting out of the comfort zone

Stimulating creativity by limitation, Don’t/Do This, is a game for creative people. Designed as an experimental thought game, boundaries within the game push creative thinkers into new and different directions. When you play Don’t/Do This you end up with unexpected ideas.

Play, You

Grappa by Claesson Koivisto Rune

Swedish architecture and design firm, Claesson Koivisto Rune, has designed Grappa – a modular chandelier in Murano glass – for manufacturer Wonderglass.